When you hold my hand, you hold my heart

19 May

When it comes to gifts for Mothers (esp. of the charges I work with) I find that personal is best. This mothers day I decided on the hand print. Ran across a great idea (you guess it, Pinterest again!).

I liked the idea of having a hand print for each year. Have seen the heavy clay hand prints, and while those are fun…they are heavy and cumbersome and I haven’t seen them displayed in homes. For these reasons I really like this idea http://www.modpodgerocksblog.com/2012/05/mothers-day-handprint-canvases.html

I knew it could be a challenge to trace the kids hands as they are 4 and 1. So I opted to use paint and get a hand print instead. Mack was easy peasy to do because he has been enjoying finger painting lately. I was able to get one good print from him.

Little one was a bit more challenging. I put the paint on his hand and quickly pressed his hand to the paper several times (with the hope that I could make one print work). He still puts things in his mouth so I quickly washed his hand off afterwards. He looked at me wondering what was going on as the I made the process really quick.

I enjoy crafty things. Have heard of Modge Podge but never purchased or worked with it. Now I have a whole jar and thinking there are more products  I can use this stuff for! If you have some ideas that you have used Modge Podge for, pass on the link or the idea (you may even see your idea featured here).

Here are the products you will need for this project:

  • Moge Podge
  • Sponge Paint Brushes (recommended to me as the best to use with Modge Podge)
  • Patterned Paper
  • Plain Paper (for the heart)
  • Gel Pen (or something similar)
  • Pen/Pencil (to trace hand)
  • Canvas
  • Scissors

The lovely hand prints before:

I taped the prints to the back of the patterned paper and cut them out. One could trace the hand on the paper and then cut it out:

I then mod podged the canvas and centered the masterpiece. Then added another coat of modge podge on top..Voila!:

Then added a heart with their name and age written with gel pens (and added another coat of Modge Podge):

Aren’t they cute?

What projects have you done for  Mothers Day?

What is your most memorable gift as a Mother?

Have an idea you would like to see on this blog (hint: leave me a comment in the box below!) ? 

As always, appreciate you stopping by to catch up on my blog.

Enjoy your weekend and be blessed!

Nanny G

Just in case the title had you thinking of a song, yes, that was the intention! It is lyrics from  an oldie the Chantrellines When you hold my hand, you hold my heart.

4 Responses to “When you hold my hand, you hold my heart”

  1. modpodgerocks May 23, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    I love your version! So very cute! Anna from My Life and Kids would be proud 😀

    • samiamnan May 24, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      Thanks. I enjoyed putting them together 🙂

    • samiamnan May 29, 2012 at 2:55 am #

      Thanks! I enjoyed making them 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When you hold my hand, you hold my heart « Nanny G's Ventrues - May 19, 2012

    […] So much fun to see it come together. Fairly easy to do…well, the original hand print was a bit challenging. If you are interested in how I did this visit my Nanny/Governess blog here: https://juvinadventures.wordpress.com/2012/05/19/when-you-hold-my-hand-you-hold-my-heart/ […]

Leave a Reply

