“There is a baby sleeping and it is, like my brother”

25 Oct

 

I hear pitter patter of little feet going past the room I am in towards the bathroom. Mack’s little voice pipes up (in all seriousness)”And actually, would you please be quiet? Because there is a baby sleeping and it is, like, my bother.” I burst out laughing (best laugh I have had in weeks) as I am rocking his brother to sleep. There is no way I could have contained this laughter, you would be laughing as well if you could have heard the tone of his voice as he said it. He was speaking to the man working on the tile and as the older brother wanted to make sure this gentleman understood his brother was sleeping. This sure made my job easier!

Earlier that morning we were playing in the playroom and Mack was having a challenging time sharing with his brother. Here is the conversation that ensued:

Me: ‘Sometimes we have to share our space and things even when we don’t want to. But, there are times we can have things to ourselves. When your brother is sleeping is a great time you can have your things to yourself.’

A bit of time passes…

Me: ‘I am the oldest in my family and I shared sometimes, even when I didn’t want to.’

A thoughtful look comes across Mack’s face and he earnestly asks

Mack: ‘Sarah, did you get Fruster..ratted sometimes?”

Me: ‘Yes, sometimes I did get frustrated’

I really enjoy how Mack is putting things together that he knows such as that I would get frustrated just like him. Also the bigger words he is using in context are enjoyable to hear.

We also painted pumpkins today. Mack has been pretty adamant about doing things on his own without me so I assumed this might be the case and gave him his paints and pumpkin. It was his pumpkin and if he wanted to share he would let me know. He was painting along and then suddenly said “Actually, I would like you to paint with me” I gladly obliged.

We then looked at some pictures of pumpkins with faces and he determined that some of them looked scary. I had the idea to paint an example on paper of what we could do to the next pumpkin. He was more than happy to paint a happy face with me on the next pumpkin. Here is our two-sided boy-girl pumpkin.

Little one continues using new sounds and is really trying to communicate the word banana. I had given him some banana on his tray and set the rest on the counter. He points his little index finger at the counter and says ‘blah, blah.’  That same day as daddy was leaving for work instead of saying the usual ‘da da,’ he pipes up ‘daddy, daddy.’ He is becoming more toddler like every day. Looking back on pictures of him his baby face has certainly gone away and he very much looks more like a toddler.

Make good memories and savor them!

Nanny G

p.s. had some technical difficulities with my posts recently. Appreciate your patience with me uploading them 🙂

Leave a Reply

